Skip to main content

Ann Walmsley

Walmsley wins Edna Staebler Award

Author receives recognition, $10,000 prize for The Prison Book Club

Ann Walmsley was recently named winner of the 2016 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction for her work The Prison Book Club.

A celebration marking Walmsley's win – which came with a $10,000 prize – took place in November.

The Prison Book Club draws readers into the conversations and lives of book club members and, briefly, into Walmsley's own journey of overcoming a fear of working with prison inmates.

Other books on this year’s shortlist for the Edna Staebler Award included That Lonely Section of Hell by Lorimer Shenher and The Right to be Cold by Sheila Watt-Cloutier.

Administered by Laurier, the Edna Staebler Award provides recognition to a Canadian writer of a first or second published work. Staebler, a writer and award-winning journalist, established and endowed the award in 1991.

In addition to the award, Laurier also runs the Edna Staebler Laurier Writer-in-Residence program. Award-winning fiction writer Ashley Little is set to become the fifth writer to hold the position with a term at Laurier from January to April 2017.

Image of nominated books