Skip to main content

Convocation 1984

Flashback: Canadian literary icons at Laurier

Photography by james Hertel

Former Laurier president John Weir, pictured at left, joined authors Pierre Berton and Edna Staebler during a reception following the university’s fall convocation ceremony on Oct. 28, 1984. Staebler received an honorary degree during the ceremony. Seven years later, she would establish and endow the $10,000 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction, a literary award administered by Laurier that recognizes Canadian writers for a first or second work of creative non-fiction that includes a Canadian locale or is significant to the nation.

Have a photo to share? Email your image to and it could appear in Campus!