Skip to main content

People at Laurier

Gohar AshoughianGohar Ashoughian has been appointed to a second five-year term as university librarian. Ashoughian’s second term began July 1, 2017.

Douglas DeutschmanDouglas H. Deutschman has been appointed dean of the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies. Deutschman joins Laurier from San Diego State University, where he served as associate dean of the College of Sciences. His term as dean began Oct. 1.

Paul HeyerPaul Heyer, professor emeritus in Laurier’s Department of Communication Studies, was selected as the 2017 recipient of the Media Ecology Association’s Walter J. Ong Award for Career Achievement in Scholarship.

Paul JessopPaul Jessop has stepped away from his role as dean of the Faculty of Science to serve as acting vice-president: academic until June 30, 2018.

Micheal KellyMicheál Kelly has been appointed to a second five-year term as dean of the Lazaridis School of Business and Economics. Kelly’s second term began on July 1, 2017.

Beth NobleBeth Noble has been appointed alumni officer for Laurier’s Brantford campus. Noble brings a wealth of experience gained during seven years working as part of the Development and Alumni Relations team, as well as a passion for the Brantford campus and community.

Sandra PalmaroLaurier has appointed fundraising and business-development leader Sandra Palmaro as interim vice-president of Development and Alumni Relations. Palmaro has held numerous senior roles in both the private and not-for-profit sectors. Her term runs until June 30, 2018.

jilian SwartzJillian Swartz (BBA ’91) became the new chair of Laurier’s Board of Governors. A graduate of Laurier’s Honours Bachelor of Business Administration program, Swartz is a partner in the law firm Allen McDonald Swartz LLP. She has been a member of the Board of Governors since 2012 and served as vice-chair for the past two years.