Skip to main content

Alumni Association presents Awards of Excellence

Contributions to Laurier community recognized during annual ceremony

The Wilfrid Laurier University Alumni Association has named intelligence research analyst Jeff Weyers (BA ’97) Alumnus of the Year for 2017, recognizing his achievements in policing and counterterrorism.

Weyers graduated from Laurier in 1997 with a Bachelor of Arts in biology and psychology and has worked as a criminology instructor at Laurier's Brantford campus. He is a respected and decorated police officer with Halton Regional Police and a pioneer in the field of preventing extremism and terrorist use of social media. His expertise has been sought around the world, including at the Pentagon.

Weyers received the award during the Alumni Association's annual Awards of Excellence ceremony, held June 1 in the Maureen Forrester Recital Hall on Laurier's Waterloo campus.

Awards of Excellence recipients

The Awards of Excellence recognize the achievements of alumni, faculty, staff, students and friends by of the university with a series of awards presented to those who have made significant contributions to the Laurier community.

Nathan Vo (BSc ’10) was named Young Alumnus of the Year for 2017. Vo graduated from Laurier with a Bachelor of Science in biochemistry and biotechnology. He has since earned a PhD from the University of Waterloo in cell biology, virology and immunology. Vo is a creator of animal cell lines, which are critical to many facets of research. Currently, he is working as a researcher at Laurier, investigating the effects of frog virus 3 on green frog tadpole lines.

Former Laurier president Max Blouw was the association's Honorary Alumnus of the Year. Blouw completed his 10-year tenure as university president on June 30. During his time leading Laurier, Blouw was a champion of alumni engagement and helped build and strengthen relationships between the university and its alumni.

Other awards presented by the Alumni Association include:

  • Hoffmann-Little Award for Faculty: Shohini Ghose
  • Faculty Mentoring Award: Michael Cinelli
  • Schaus Award for Staff: Laura Mae Lindo
  • Student Alumna of the Year: Elaine Hui