Skip to main content

Golden Hawk Hall of Fame welcomes new inductees

Eight new members inducted as part of 2021 Homecoming celebrations

Created in 1986, the Golden Hawk Hall of Fame recognizes outstanding contributions by athletes, coaches, teams and individuals during their years at Laurier. Chosen to Laurier’s prestigious class of 2021 are members of a Yates Cup championship team, an acclaimed men’s hockey coach and six athletes.

“The Golden Hawk family of athletes, coaches, alumni and builders have had a proud tradition,” said Peter Baxter, Laurier’s director of athletics and recreation. “To be selected to the Laurier Golden Hawk Hall of Fame comes from more than just hard work and a desire to learn and improve, but also from impressive performances, awards, recognition by peers, success in the classroom and a positive contribution to community life.”

2021 Laurier Golden Hawk Hall of Fame inductees:

Kwaku Boateng 

Kwaku BoatengCurrently a member of the Edmonton Elks of the Canadian Football League, Kwaku Boateng (BBA ’18) was a standout player with the Golden Hawks men’s football team. A member of Laurier’s 2016 Ontario University Athletics (OUA) championship squad, Boateng was named a U Sports Academic All-Canadian, OUA first team all-star and CIS second team all-Canadian during an illustrious university career. Boateng is also a two-time winner of Laurier’s Luke Fusco Academic Athletic Achievement Award and holds Laurier’s all-time sack record.

Jonathan Brouse

Jonathan BrouseA five-time OUA all-star baseball outfielder, Jonathan Brouse (BA ’15, BEd ’17) was a member of three league championship squads, an Ontario Academic Achievement Award winner and a recipient of Laurier’s rookie of the year award. Brouse was the first Golden Hawk baseball player to be chosen as top male athlete of the year and was named winner of Laurier President’s Award in 2014. His career numbers are impressive: a .352 batting average and 135 career hits, the most by any player in OUA history.

Whitney Ellenor

Whitney EllenorA OUA league all-star, Whitney Ellenor (BA ’15) caught the attention of basketball fans across the country during her time at Laurier. In 2014, she was instrumental in Laurier’s OUA bronze medal and helped the Golden Hawks earn a spot in the national championship tournament. Ellenor was selected as a second team all-Canadian during the 2014-2015 season. Her induction into the Golden Hawk Hall of Fame also recognizes her dedication, courage and fortitude.

Wayne Gowing 

Wayne GowingWayne Gowing enjoyed a remarkable tenure of 25 years as head coach of the Wilfrid Laurier University men’s hockey team from 1973 to 1997. During that time, he coached three OUA championship teams and was a three-time coach of the year. Gowing boasts an impressive regular-season coaching record of 255 wins, 155 losses and 41 ties.

Richard Krell

Richard KrellRichard Krell (BA ’16) was part of a four-member curling rink – along with Aaron Squires, Spencer Nuttall and Fraser Reid – that dominated the Ontario university curling circuit and won the Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) championship in 2015-2016. Krell’s list of achievements as a Golden Hawk included five elite league awards, including three selections as an all-Canadian and two as an OUA all-star. Krell was also twice named an Academic all-Canadian.

Nakas Onyeka

Nakas OnyekaCurrently a member of the Canadian Football League’s Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Nakas Onyeka (BA ’19) was a first-team all-Canadian linebacker and member of the 2016 OUA championship team during his standout football career at Laurier. Onyeka was also named a two-time OUA all-star, team most valuable player and winner of the 2016-2017 Laurier President’s Award as top male athlete.

Aaron Squires

Aaron SquiresAaron Squires served as skip for one of the most successful curling teams in the history of Ontario university sport. Along with his Laurier teammates Richard Krell, Spencer Nuttall and Fraser Reid, Squires captured a CIS championship in 2015-2016, as well as two OUA championships. In addition to the titles, Squires was named a three-time all-Canadian, a two-time OUA all-star and the 2015-2016 recipient of Laurier’s President’s Award.

2004 Yates Cup Football Champions

2004 Yates Cup championsLaurier’s 89-member 2004 Yates Cup winning football team enters the Golden Hawk Hall of Fame in recognition of its accomplishment as Ontario provincial champions. The team, led by head coach Gary Jeffries, played to a perfect 8-0 record during the regular season before going 2-1 in the playoffs.


The Golden Hawk Hall of Fame has welcomed more than 200 inductees, including athletes, coaches, builders of sport and 26 teams. Learn more at

Visit to read more articles from the Fall-Winter 2021 print edition of Laurier Campus and new alumni stories between print editions.

Share this article: